TÜV Rheinland Blog - Insights from Asia and Africa

Understanding the HBSE Methodology in IEC 62368-1

Posted by TUV Rheinland on Mar 8, 2019 3:07:38 PM
TUV Rheinland


Understanding the HSBE Methodology in IEC 62368-1

The deadline for the brand-new IEC 62368-1 safety standard to go into effect is fast approaching: 20 December 2020. In that time, it will be important for your business to be prepared for the transition from legacy standards to the updated hazard-based IEC 62368-1 standard. Apart from making your products safer, this will also help future proof your IT Equipment (ITE) and Audio-Visual (AV) innovations for market access entry into the global markets.

While the same prescriptive rules for product safety carry forward, the new standard employs a means to apply hazard-based thinking.

Basic Principles

IEC 62368-1 was written using hazard-based concepts, using a three-block model for pain and injury. It follows HBSE methodology:

  1. Identify energy sources in the product that are capable of causing pain or injury (i.e. electrical, mechanical, or thermal)
  2. Classify those energy sources effect on the body or their potential for combustion (i.e. not painful/painful but not injurious/injury-causing, as well as ignition not likely/ possible/likely).
  3. Identify safeguards that are needed to protect against the above: Some safeguard types include Equipment Safeguards, Instructional Safeguards and Installation Safeguards; and finally
  4. Qualify those safeguards using performance or construction-based criteria.


In addition to identifying these hazards, the new standard differentiates among three kinds of “persons” or potential users of the electronic device: Ordinary person, Instructed person or Skilled person.

TÜV Rheinland is a global leader in testing, inspection and certification services. Speak to our experts to find out more about the significant changes IEC 62326-1 can have on your business:

Contact us now

Topics: Product Certification, IEC 623268-1, AA19_P03_IEC62368